Olde Guarde Distinguished Service Award

The Olde Guarde Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual whose class graduated a minimum of fifty years prior to the year the award is presented. It is given to an Olde Guarde member of William Mary as an alumni recognition award. The criteria include dedication, involvement and continued service to the university as well as lifetime achievement.  The award recipient may not currently serve on the Olde Guarde Council. The award is currently presented at Olde Guarde Day in the spring. To nominate someone, please fill out the nomination form.

Olde Guarde Distinguished Service Award Winners

Name Year Honored
Carol Achenbach Hardy '49 2018
Carroll W. Owens, Jr ’62, P ’90, P ’92 2017
Denys Grant ’58 2016
Judith Urian Lownes ’60 2015
Audrey Allein Hoitsma ’49 2014
Charles D. Redding ’51 and Roberta Lamont Redding ’52 2013
James D. Dorsey ’60 2012
Joseph S. Agee ’52, M.Ed. ’56 2011
Thomas M. Mikula ’48 2010
Jean Canoles Bruce ’49 2009
Harrison R. Tyler ’49 2008
Ruth Weimer Tillar ’45 2007
Dixon L. Foster ’44, B.C.L. ’49 2006
Willard S. Smith ’44 and Jane Spencer Smith ’48 2005
Ernest W. Goodrich ’35, L.L.D. ’02 2004
John H. Garrett, Jr. ’40 2003